Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Backing up and Restoring/Recovering an Oracle 9i Database
Backing up and Restoring/Recovering an Oracle 9i Database [message #239795] Wed, 23 May 2007 05:46 Go to next message
t.summerfield
I am fairly new at this and have been tasked with managing off site backups for customer data on a 9i database.

I am carrying out a user managed backup of the following data files to the offsite data centre.

User File
USERS01.DBF

Control File
CONTROL01.CTL

Redo Log Files
REDO01.LOG
REDO02.LOG
REDO03.LOG

Index File
INDX01.DBF

SPFile
SPFILEBCS.ORA

To test the success of the back up I have created a fresh install of 9i on a new machine with the file structure replicating that of the original.

My questions are;
1) Are these all the files required to be backed up in order to carry out a restore?
2) What are the steps that I need to carry out to restore/recover the database using the above files?

Any help or ‘user friendly’ resources for beginners would be greatly appreciated

Regards
Toby
Re: Backing up and Restoring/Recovering an Oracle 9i Database [message #239908 is a reply to message #239795] Wed, 23 May 2007 11:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
DreamzZ
You just simply replace all the files with these files and at the same location??

wheres your system tablespace file..

how many controlfiles you defined in pfile,if there are more than 1 than place the copy of this controlfile with that name.
Re: Backing up and Restoring/Recovering an Oracle 9i Database [message #240024 is a reply to message #239795] Wed, 23 May 2007 23:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mohammad Taj

Hi,

1) Are these all the files required to be backed up in order to carry out a restore?
Yes, All files according your source database.

1.select name from v$datafile;
2.select name from v$controlfile;
3.select member from v$logfile;
4.spfile or pfile

Above all file need to restore/recover/test your source database backup.