Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » How long to keep archive logs on the server
How long to keep archive logs on the server [message #210598] Thu, 21 December 2006 08:23 Go to next message
daven
I have recently taken over a new job and noticed that the archive logs go back to 05/05/05 they are split down into 3 folders and are all there on the server.
do i need to keep them all or can i delete upto a point where i can recover to i am very new to oracle and this site has been helping me out for a couple of weeks so thank you to all
i use veritas back every night so all files are backed up through oracle agent so we have copies but at 100mb each they are taking up a lot of space now and that is every day since 05/05/05.
Thanks
Re: How long to keep archive logs on the server [message #210614 is a reply to message #210598] Thu, 21 December 2006 09:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
It depends on your local retention policy and how you use RMAN.
If you do Frequent TSPITR based duplication (you wont be frequently restorin Smile , having archived logs locally for about the retention period is quite worth.
Else
Just backup the database and archivedlogs and purge the old ones.
Re: How long to keep archive logs on the server [message #210619 is a reply to message #210614] Thu, 21 December 2006 09:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
daven
I have never used RMAN and i do not know if the guy before did or not that is how new to oracle i am i am now just reading and learning i have read about the LWGR where it gets to a certain file and then beginsover writing the first one again which looks okay but ui need to do some serious reading and practicing i have a virtual server for this and it is getting used big time.
sorry what is: TSPITR based duplication
thanks
Re: How long to keep archive logs on the server [message #210620 is a reply to message #210619] Thu, 21 December 2006 09:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message