Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Backing up from a Schema
Backing up from a Schema [message #179519] Tue, 27 June 2006 16:17 Go to next message
JenniferBabes

HI all. I recently posted a question about backing and recovering. I am thankful that I got it through successfully.

Now some guysfrom work here created a schema to the database. I am a newbie so I'mnow researching about schemas. I know how to select from a schema and view tables from a schema. But I want to know how to export and import from and to a schema on separate machines.

I already know how to export adn import a database or a user to another machine.

Does anyone knows?

With thanks.

Jennifer
Re: Backing up from a Schema [message #179523 is a reply to message #179519] Tue, 27 June 2006 16:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
If you know how to export user, then you know how to export schema as well. Schema is, shortly, user + his database objects.
Re: Backing up from a Schema [message #180902 is a reply to message #179519] Wed, 05 July 2006 15:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
JenniferBabes

Ok. I got the export to end successfully. I selected the tables to export, and identified each table as Schema.Tablename.

Now it is the import I am getting some trouble with. I don't know if I dont understand what a schema is. What I think a schema is, is like a partition in the database. The name of their schema is SchemaSystem. What I want to do, is take these tables, and copy it to my oracle database at home, with the same schema. First I don't know how to create a schema. The little research I did implied that you create a schema with an already created user. However, they told me their schema is created without a user but again they arent telling me how it was done.