Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Recovery for a total newbie
icon5.gif  Recovery for a total newbie [message #138290] Wed, 21 September 2005 03:35 Go to next message
varkhan
Hello,

I'm a total newbie with Oracle (currently using 9.2 on a Win2k3 server) and I'm facing a problem I can't see how to handle, or even how to search help on.

The situation is as follows : a database Bellevue has been previously installed, standard database. Someone in the unit I work in has created 3 tablespaces, with files named LOB.ORA, SAGEX.ORA and SAGEX_INDEX.ORA, all located in the oradata/bellevue folder on the server's disk.

Some weeks earlier, the server faced a failure and the IT department simply made a 'backup' of the datas by copying the folders admin, ora92 and oradata to a different location, before reinstalling both the server and oracle 9.2 from scratch.

There were no backups made with RMAN or any other utility, as far as I know.

My problem is the following : I need to restore these three "tablespaces", but I simply do not know how to do it in this case. I do not even know whether it is possible or not. I've already rebuilt a new database with same SID, but how can I 'import' those tablespaces ?

Can anyone please help me ?
Re: Recovery for a total newbie [message #138309 is a reply to message #138290] Wed, 21 September 2005 04:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
alliejane
As far as I'm aware (others correct me if I'm wrong) you can't just add these datafiles to your existing database (the headers are inconsistent with the new database)

A work around MAY BE that you use the backup that was created before the crash - as long as you have the datafiles and controlfiles and redolog files in that backup, recreate (recover) THAT database, and use TRANSPORTABLE_TABLESPACE export and import to add them to your new database..