Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Recovery through RMAN (redo logs)
Recovery through RMAN (redo logs) [message #63606] Wed, 20 October 2004 04:38 Go to next message
Chris
I am trying to recover a dataspace using RMAN. Let me say btw that I am completely new to Oracle, so I'm working a bit on trial and error here.

What I do is make a backup of my dataspace. I make a few changes to the database (add some new entries, delete others etc). Then I recover the dataspace from my backup (still using RMAN). But it seems that the changes I did after taking the backup are still there after the recovery. So either the same changes were applied after doing the recovery or nothing was actually recovered!?

Now I read about redo logs. Am I coorect that redo logs hold any changes done to the database? and if so does RMAN (or something else) automatically apply these changes after doing a restore?

And, if that is the case, can I restore without applying these changes?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

- Chris
Re: Recovery through RMAN (redo logs) [message #63610 is a reply to message #63606] Wed, 20 October 2004 05:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Hi,

It all depends on what you've put into your RMAN script: The "restore database" command will just restore files from backup. The "recover database" command will apply changes from your archived- and online logs to the database.

By default Oracle will do a COMPLETE RECOVERY. If want to do a point in time recovery, use the "SET UNTIL TIME" or "SET UNTIL SCN" commands.

Best regards.

Frank
Re: Recovery through RMAN (redo logs) [message #63611 is a reply to message #63610] Wed, 20 October 2004 05:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Chris
Thank you for the fast reply.

Well I do both "restore" and "recover". Frankly I'm just following an example in the reference guide.

So what you're saying if I understand you correctly...

Restore, recreates my dataspace from the backup.